Rob's Blog

Postings from the world of Rob Ferrer
  • rss
  • Home
  • About
  • Gallery

Autograph Request: Mistaken identity or a new scam?

December 29, 2009 | 3:07 pm

Update (02/02/2010): It would seem from the comments that this was a legitimate request for an autograph! MAybe I’m more famous than I think? Original post continues:

A few days ago I got a surprising email asking for my autograph (full text below). Despite getting literally tens of visitors to this blog per day, I am by no means a celebrity, so this either there is some famous person with my name (so famous I’ve never heard of them), this person is just trying their luck sending hundreds of emails hoping to get a real one or two, or this is some new scam to get my signature and use it to steal my identity.

I’ve searched for the sender of the email (Lalit Kumar Bajaj), and I can only find a few comments on blog posts requesting autographs and not much more, but it could be very new, or could be the scammers (if they are scammers) are using multiple names.

I’d be interested to know if anyone else had got anything similar? The full text of the email follows (I presume Lalit doesn’t mind me publishing his address, since he has posted it to other blogs, but I’d be happy to remove it if requested). It really was in all caps, and really was bold!

DEAR SIR / MADAM ,

I HAVE THE HONOUR TO INTRODUCE MYSELF , I AM A SERIOUS COLLECTOR OF AUTOGRAPHED PHOTOGRAPH OF THE GREAT CELEBRITIES LIKE YOU.

IN THIS CONNECTION I WOULD FEEL HIGHLY OBLIGED IF YOU KINDLY SEND ME YOUR AUTOGRAPH FOR MY COLLECTION. I WILL NOT ONLY PRESERVE YOUR AUTOGRAPH BUT I WILL TAKE THESE FASCINATING HOBBIES AMONG YOUNGER GENERATION TO CREATE AN AWARENESS BY WAY OF EXHIBITION. MY NAME AND ADDRESS IS GIVEN HEREUNDER FOR YOUR KIND INFORMATION :

LALIT KUMAR BAJAJ

40 , STRAND ROAD

4TH FLOOR

KOLKATA – 700001 (INDIA)

MAY I THEN LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR USUAL KIND CO – OPERATION?

THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE.

VERY TRULY YOURS.

L.BAJAJ.

Share This:
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • del.icio.us
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • MySpace
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • FriendFeed
  • Twitter

Related posts:

  1. Electronic Megastore (electronicmegastore.com) Seems to be a Scam I watched last week’s Gadget Show last night (I’m...

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

Categories
Uncategorized
Tags
email, Homepages Friends, security, spam
Comments rss
Comments rss
Trackback
Trackback

« Free Google Wave Invites Make the Most money selling your stuff online »

4 responses

I've had a few of these, but I get lots

Tim Hunt | February 2, 2010 | 1:49 pm

I’ve had a few of these, but I get lots of autograph requests although puzzlingly the countries from which they emanate seem to change. Not many are Indian, most these days are from Russia with a steady trickle from the USA. They used to be mainly German. I don’t think they are scams, or not all of them. In the early days of fame, people used to write in with stamped addressed envelopes often enclosing International Postage Coupons, or dollar bills. The email people don’t do this, of course. I used to send out photos but gradually got fed up and now tend to direct everything into a spam trash can.

Best wishes,

Tim Hunt (Nobel laureate in Physiology or Medicine 2001)

Hi Tim At least there is a reasonable reason for people

Rob | February 2, 2010 | 1:51 pm

Hi Tim

At least there is a reasonable reason for people to want your autograph. There is absolutely no reason someone could want mine!

Dear Rob; Well regarding Mr Lalit Bajaj, I know that he

Autographs India | February 2, 2010 | 2:31 pm

Dear Rob;

Well regarding Mr Lalit Bajaj, I know that he is a stamp and collectibles dealer and also collects autographs.
He would have either mistaken you as a big celebrity or has great foresight that you will become one through your blog and your work!!

Anyways , for one I can tell you that this guy exists physically and he deals in stamps,coins etc and as far as my knowledge goes collects autographs.

With regard to Sir Tim Hunt, of course he is famous and he would have mailed him too.

Regards from India.

Thanks for the info. I look forward to my future

Rob | February 2, 2010 | 2:37 pm

Thanks for the info. I look forward to my future fame!

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CAPTCHA Image CAPTCHA Audio
Refresh Image

Links

  • Dell Special Offers
  • Ferrer Consulting Ltd
  • My LinkedIn Profile
  • Yuwie – social networking
  • Zopa

Tags

Android baby led weaning blogging cashback eBay email funny gadgets GDI GDI Goldrush Get Rich Quick google Google Wave Homepages Friends HTC Hero HTC Sense Isabel junk mail kayaking mobile MySearchFunds Norton Antivirus openid outdoors show Paternity phone photography post Post a Day rant review rodeo search security spam Symantec t-mobile the mobile outlet web Web Development welcome woopra wordpress WordPress 2.5 Yahoo

Recent Photos

DSC_0169.JPG
DSC_0158.JPG
DSC_0103.JPG
DSC_0098.JPG

Meta

  • Register
  • Log in
  • Entries RSS
  • Comments RSS
  • WordPress.org
rss Comments rss valid xhtml 1.1 design by jide powered by Wordpress get firefox